top of page

Closer than you know...androgynous

Thanks for sticking with me for that corny post title. I couldn't resist bringing some of my favorite Minneapolis guys into it...but onto the main event! Scrolling through Facebook one afternoon I noticed a sidebar ad promoting men's razors. "Why must you mistake me, God?" I yelled in my head. "Does a feminine pixie cut mean nothing anymore?" Alas, I clicked on the Dollar Shave Club ad anyways, and found myself strangely intrigued.

Dollar Shave Club adverts itself as a simple service that prides itself on being a cut above the rest (gosh you guys, I couldn't resist!) Another subscription service, they offer 3 grades of razors, as well as various grooming accessories, delivered to your door each and every month, hassle-free. They aren't exaggerating when they call themselves the "Dollar" Shave Club either-- their prices range from $1 to $9 a month for 4 replacement razor heads (the actual razor handle comes free your first month). Here's the scoop:

  • $1.00/month: you can find in your mailbox what they deem "The Humble Twin." A basic shaver, it has two stainless steel blades and a lubricating strip for moisturizing.

  • $6.00/month: Receive 'The 4x" each month. Also known as, The Lover's Blade, it's marketed as a great unisex razor, and I couldn't agree more.

  • $9.00/month: "The Executive" will arrive every four weeks. It's got a hefty 6 blades and a special trimmer edge for you perfectionists.

In my experience, I've splurged on 'The Executive' and 'The 4x.' My verdict? Those 6 blades and special trimmer edge on 'The Executive' might be some kind of wonderful for a well-groomed man, but I noticed no significant benefit over The Lover's Blade. They weren't lying when they said girlfriends would love it, too. The razor provided one of the closest shaves I experienced in a while. For a girl who used to go to three different grocery and convenience stores just to purchase her preferred brand of razors (Noxzema 4-blade for the win!) this simplified the process to no end. I couldn't be more delighted to know that I won't find myself with a dull razor as I primp for a night out-- there's always a brand new replacement in my cupboard just waiting!

Still on the fence? Here are the final details that made me a lifetime subscriber:

  1. Their customer service rocks: a box of refill cartridges went missing in the mail one month. I emailed their customer service and was immediately sent a new one, and as an apology the month's charge was waived.

  2. Don't shave as often in the winter? Not a problem-- you can increase or decrease the frequency of your replacement cartridges at any time without penalty.

  3. The packaging is simple and utilitarian, just like their product. They deliver on the service, through and through. (Although they do include some hilarious bathroom 'reading' each month.)

Head on over to Dollar Shave Club to check it out for yourself, but don't forget to tell 'em I sent ya. You'll be glad you did.


Search for...

No tags yet.

Give me more...

  • Wix Twitter page
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest Classic

© 2023 by The Beauty Room. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page