top of page

So you want a tailored fragrance?


Ahhhh...it's good to be back, ladies and gentlemen. I took an unexpected hiatus to organize my hectic-crazy life and I'm baaa--aack! I thought I'd share with you one of my favorite discoveries while I was away-- Pinrose fragrances. I stumbled upon them via a great Pinterest post (you can follow me here) and I decided to jump right in. They sold me on a beautiful website and the concept that I could try out three of their scents for free before I committed to buying a whole vial online. The geniuses at Pinrose have the taken the guesswork out of what a scent will smell like with their concept of "smile, heart, and soul." The 'smile' is the initial fragrance, the 'heart' is what you will smell as the scent settles, and the 'soul' will be the notes that linger and mix with your own body chemistry. After spending too much time searching for just the right fragrance (since my favorite is only sold in NYC and France, apparently) I took their short profile quiz to point me in the direction of what I supposedly would enjoy most based on the music/environment/images that I identified with. I'll admit, I was wary that a computer-generated quiz would be able to send me a scent that spoke to me. But alas, I received my three-petal pack and damn was I surprised. The most elegant package arrived via my adorable postman. Inside a beautiful envelope was an entire presentation of how seriously Pinrose takes its scents and customer service. Not only did I receive the samples, but a beautiful catalogue of sorts, complete with a notes section, where I was free to jot down my feelings and preferences lest I forget while sampling. Genius, since we all know how things start to blur the more we smell. Here are the scents that I received, along with their profiles:

Rooftop Socialite:

smile: lime, italian bergamot, mandarin

heart: freesia, hedione, apple blossom

soul: white musk, cedarwood

Campfire Rebel:

smile: whiskey, raspberry

heart: burning oud wood

soul: vetiver, vanilla bourbon

Treehouse Royal:

smile: cassis, pear, fig

heart: jasmine, white peony, violet

soul: vanilla bourbon, haitian vetiver, moss

I was not surprised by what was recommended-- I am drawn to earthy, woody, and fresh scents and I very often find myself spritzing on men's cologne. However, what I was taken aback by was that I saved trying out Campfire Rebel for last, thinking that it would be my favorite. While it definitely ranks up there as a close second, Treehouse Royal was the choice I ultimately made. Not nearly as sweet as it sounds, the soul of bourbon, vetiver (a musky, wonderful note) and moss was the anchor that I've been looking for in a fragrance. Head on over to Pinrose, take the quiz, and let me know what you think. You might be as surprised as me.

Search for...

No tags yet.

Give me more...

  • Wix Twitter page
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest Classic

© 2023 by The Beauty Room. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page