top of page

Pattern play...


Just the other week I was running late on my way to a meeting. With no extra time to consider an outfit, I threw on the usual go-to: jeans, a black and white striped shirt and an abstract floral scarf. A fellow Minneapolitan gal took a moment to compliment my outfit as I walked into my meeting. "I love how you wore that shirt and scarf together. I would have never thought of that!" she said. Flash forward to this week: I am sitting in a circle of the same young women and I count off a few of them in their own rendition of the striped-shirt/floral scarf combo.

I love seeing people stepping outside their comfort zones, and I think the layout above does a pretty great job breaking it down. Dipping just a toe into the pattern-mixing pool? Stick with level 1 (two patterns in similar color schemes) until you don't even think about it anymore. Ready to practice some more? Venture into level 2 where you can add a third print in the same color family. Before you know it you won't even consider level 3 expert and that level 4 pop of color pattern will feel natural. Having so much fun mixing and matching? Try thinking of leopard print as a neutral. Don't think you'll ever be able to rock an outfit with 3+ patterns? No big deal. Just sticking to the level 1 or 2 is enough visual interest to keep a basic outfit from becoming boring. Now go on and try it-- after all, just wearing what makes you smile should be enough rule for all of us.

Search for...

No tags yet.

Give me more...

  • Wix Twitter page
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest Classic

© 2023 by The Beauty Room. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page